Royce W. Murray Young Investigator Award

Royce W. Murray

The Royce W. Murray Young Investigator Award was renamed in 2014.  Royce W. Murray, who counts among his many honors, was also the the 1988 Charles N. Reilley Awardee.  The decision to change the name of the award was based on Professor Murray’s long history of outstanding and inspiring research and, importantly, his mentoring and supporting young electroanalytical chemists. The latter included his undergraduate and graduate research students, postdoctoral associates, colleagues at the University of North Carolina, and other scholars who visited his laboratory over a career that has spanned more than 50 years.  In addition, Prof. Murray has given generously of his time to informally mentor three generations of young electrochemists who did not have a direct association with his research group. These activities have helped to ensure the vitality of the field of electrochemistry generally, and electroanalytical chemistry specifically.

Current Awardee – 2024

Long Luo received his B.S. (2009) in applied chemistry from Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics and his Ph.D. (2014) in chemistry from the University of Utah under the guidance of Prof. Henry S. White. Before joining Wayne State University in 2017, he worked as a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Prof. Richard M. Crooks at the University of Texas at Austin. He received the National Science Foundation CAREER Award, National Institute of Health Maximizing Investigators’ Research Award (MIRA), Sloan Research Fellowship, and Wayne State University Academy of Scholars Junior Faculty Award, and was selected as a ChemComm Emerging Investigator, Anal. Bioanal. Chem. Young Investigator, and Nanoscale Emerging Investigator. He is the inaugural Carl R. Johnson Endowed Early Career Professor of Chemistry at Wayne State University. The research goal of his laboratory is to address the grand challenges of our times in environment, energy, and health by exploring the interdisciplinary frontiers of electrochemistry. His group has developed new electrosynthetic methods to prepare functional molecules and materials and new electroanalytical methods to solve emerging environmental problems.

Long Luo profile image/avatar
Wayne State University

Award Sponsors

Pine Research

Sponsors: Royce W. Murray Young Investigator Award, Student Travel Awards

Award Nominations

Nominations for the Royce W. Murray Young Investigator Award should include a letter of nomination describing the individual’s significant contributions to electroanalytical chemistry, at least two seconding letters of support, and a curriculum vitae for the individual. The Royce W. Murray Young Investigator Award recognizes accomplishments by researchers who are within the first ten years of their career. All nomination materials will be retained by SEAC. Once nominated, the nominee will be considered for the Murray Award for a total of three years without being re-nominated. However, an updated vitae should be given to the chair of the award’s committee. The submission of additional supporting information or a re-nomination is welcome at any time prior to the award nomination deadline listed below.

Nominations for the 2025 Royce W. Murray Young Investigator Award are currently open.
Nominations will be accepted until April 1, 2024

Nominations should be e-mailed as a single PDF attachment to the Awards Committee Chair:

Shelley Minteer profile image/avatar
Missouri S&T

Awardee History

2024Long LuoWayne State University
2023Jeffrey DickPurdue University
2022Justin SamburColorado State University
2021Robbyn AnandIowa State University
2020Martin EdwardsUniversity of Arkansas
2019Alexander MartinsonArgonne National Laboratory
2018Parastoo HashemiImperial College
2017Joaquín Rodríguez-LópezUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2016Ryan WhiteUniversity of Cincinnati
2015Thomas HamannMichigan State University
2014Stephen MaldonadoUniversity of Michigan
2013Bo ZhangUniversity of Washington
2012Lane BakerTexas A&M University
2011Jill VentonUniversity of Virginia
2010Christy HaynesUniversity of Minnesota
2009not awardednot awarded
2008Shelley MinteerMissouri S&T
2007Mary Elizabeth WilliamsPennsylvania State University
2006Keith StevensonKJS Consulting
2005David CliffelVanderbilt University
2004Jeffrey LongNaval Research Laboratory
2003Julie MacphersonUniversity of Warwick (UK)
2002Andy HillierUniversity of Virginia
2001Eric BakkerUniversity of Geneva
2000Merlin BrueningMichigan State University
1999Daniel FeldheimNorth Carolina State University
1998Greg SwainMichigan State University
1997Ingrid FritschUniversity of Arkansas
1996Louis CouryEli Lily
1995Mark AndersonVirginia Polytechnic Institute
1994Adrian MichaelUniversity of Pittsburgh
1993Leonidas BachasUniversity of Kentucky
1993Werner KuhrUniversity of California - Riverside