Charles N. Reilley Award

The Charles N. Reilley Award in Electroanalytical Chemistry is given in memory of one of the most distinguished analytical chemists of the 20th century.  Reilley’s interests were both fundamental and broad; he made seminal contributions not only to electroanalysis, but also optical spectroscopy, NMR, chromatography, data analysis, instrumentation, and surface analysis.  The signature of his research was to decline empiricism, seeking a basic understanding of measurements and detection schemes.  Reilley recognized that measuring things is at the heart of modern chemistry. Reilley is central in the history of the Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry, which was formed following his death in 1981, as a vehicle for managing the award.  A Biography of Charles N. Reilley was written by Royce Murray for the National Academies Press in 2006.



Download the National Academy of Sciences biography on Charles N. Reilley, written by Royce Murray.

Current Awardee – 2022

University of Notre Dame

Paul W. Bohn is the Arthur J. Schmitt Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Notre Dame, as well as the Founding Director of the Institute for Precision Health. Previously, he served at Bell Laboratories (1981-83) and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (1983-2006), ending as Centennial Professor in the Chemical Sciences. Bohn’s contributions in electrochemistry began with the development of in-plane potential gradients for surface mapping in the late ‘90’s, and include the formation and study of atomic-scale junctions, and more recently electrochemical zero-mode waveguides, and nanopore electrode arrays for redox cycling, single molecule electrochemistry, and ionotronics. Among his awards are the ACS Award in Spectrochemical Analysis (1997), the Theophilus Redwood Award of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2010), and the ACS Award in Electrochemistry (2017). He is an elected Fellow of AAAS.

Award Sponsors

Award Nominations

Nominations for the Reilley Award should include a letter of nomination describing the individual’s significant contributions to electroanalytical chemistry, at least two seconding letters of support, and a curriculum vitae for the individual. All nomination materials will be retained by SEAC. Once nominated, the nominee will be considered for the Reilley Award for a total of three years without being re-nominated. However, an updated vitae should be given to the chair of the award’s committee. The submission of additional supporting information or a re-nomination is welcome at any time prior to the 2023 award nomination deadline of April 1, 2022.

Nominations for the Charles N. Reilley Award will be accepted until April 1, 2022.

Nominations should be submitted as a single PDF attachment to the Award’s Committee Chair:

University of Texas at Austin

Awardee History

2021Keith StevensonSkolkovo Institute of Technology
2020Shelley MinteerUniversity of Utah
2019Joseph WangUniversity of California – San Diego
2018Patrick UnwinUniversity of Warwick (UK)
2017Juan FeliuUniversity of Alicante (Spain)
2016Reginald PennerUniversity of California – Irvine
2015Huber GiraultÉcole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) (Switzerland)
2014Joe HuppNorthwestern University
2013Andy EwingUniversity of Gothenburg/Chalmers University (Sweden)
2012Debra RolisonU.S. Naval Research Laboratory
2011Richard Van DuyneNorthwestern University
2010Richard CrooksUniversity of Texas at Austin
2009Charles MartinUniversity of Florida
2008Héctor AbruñaCornell University
2007George WilsonUniversity of Kansas
2006Mark MeyerhoffUniversity of Michigan at Ann Arbor
2005Alan BondMonash University (Australia)
2004Adam HellerUniversity of Texas at Austin
2003Richard McCreeryOhio State University
2002Christian AmatoreÉcole normale supérieure (France)
2001Richard BuckUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2000Henry WhiteUniversity of Utah
1999Janet OsteryoungNorth Carolina State University
1998Larry FaulknerUniversity of Texas at Austin
1997Dennis JohnsonIowa State University
1996R. Mark WightmanUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
1995William HeinemanUniversity of Cincinnati
1994Barry MillerCase Western Reserve University
1993Dennis EvansUniversity of Delaware
1992Stephen FeldbergBrookhaven National Laboratory
1991Stanley BruckensteinSUNY Buffalo
1990Jean-Michel SavéantUniversité de Paris VII (France)
1989Ted KuwanaUniversity of Kansas
1988Royce MurrayUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
1987Robert OsteryoungSUNY Buffalo
1986Fred AnsonCalifornia Institute of Technology
1985Ralph AdamsUniversity of Kansas
1984Allen BardUniversity of Texas at Austin