SEACommunications Online Version

Editorial Staff


SEACommunications – Current Issue

SEACommunications. 2021, 37(1)
Published online: February 2021


President’s Message

Bo Zhang
SEAC President (2019 – 2021)
University of Washington

Dear SEAC Members,


Pittcon is right around the corner! This is the most exciting time of the year because we will be celebrating the outstanding achievements of our members at the conference, particularly at the SEAC Awards Symposium. As we all know, Keith Stevenson and Robbyn Anand are the recipients of this year’s Reilley and Murray YI Awards. Big congratulations to both of them!


This year is a bit unusual because Pittcon will be held virtually like all other major conferences. This brings some significant challenges to how we do our regular SEAC business such as online meetings and symposia, no student travel awards, etc. However, we are increasing the number of poster awards and we will also be giving awards for our SEAC talks!


Our members continue to be recognized with major national and international awards: Lane Baker will receive the 2021 ACS Electrochemistry Award; Andy Ewing will receive this year’s Adams Award at Pittcon (award symposium on March 8); Hubert Girault received the Shikata International Medal from the Polarographic Society of Japan last November; Arzum Erdem was awarded by the Higher Education Council of Turkey (YÖK). In addition, many of you probably have heard that Shelley Minteer has been named editor-in-chief of the ACS Au portfolio of nine fully open access journals. Congratulations to all of them!


Last but not least, we are very excited to have three new members joining our Board of Directors: Frédérique Deiss, Martin Edwards, and Amy Marschilok. Additionally, we especially thank our out-going members for their service to SEAC (2016-2021): Takashi Ito, Parastoo Hashemi, and Ryan White. We thank you for your dedicated service over the years!


I look forward to meeting you virtually at Pittcon in just a few weeks!


Bo Zhang


Nominations Sought for the 2022 Reilley Award and Murray Award

Nominations are requested for the Charles N. Reilley Award, the Royce W. Murray Young Investigator Award. Deadlines for the Reilley and Murray Awards are April 1, 2021 (no fooling!). All nomination materials requested below should be emailed as a single pdf to:


Professor Richard M Crooks
Robert A. Welch Chair in Materials Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
The University of Texas, Austin
Did you know?
Only members in good standing within SEAC are eligible to nominate for the Charles N. Reilley and Royce W. Murray Young Investigator Awards. Not a member? It’s easy to join!

This will be the last time award nominations are processed by email with attachments. For 2022 nomination season, all nominations will be submitted electronically via this website. Stay Tuned!


SEAC Election Results

Congratulations to our newly elected Board of Directors (2021-2026)!


Frédérique T. Deiss
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Indiana University – Perdue University Indianapolis

Martin Edwards
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Arkansas

Amy C. Marschilok
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
Stony Brook University

A special thank you to Scott Shaw, Hang Ren, Alexander Zestos, and Lisandro Cunci for their willingness to be on the ballot.  Additionally, we especially thank our outgoing members for their service to SEAC on the Board of Directions from 2016 – 2021:

  • Takashi Ito
  • Parry Hashemi
  • Ryan White